Cross platform/mobile recommendations?

Ok, guess some one should get this started.

As a new/learner developer I find myself stuck between all the different languages for all the different scenarios and devices.

So I suppose one of the most appropriate questions to ask is what is, in your experience, the best way to build an application which will work across numerous mobile platforms?

Clearly I don’t want to write a JS app for browsers, an Andriod app on Samsung and an app for iphone (not looked in to their offering which I know to be different). And then there is windows and any other platform I have missed.

1 Like

For text-based games, I think your best bet would be sticking to web and optimizing your web app for mobile usage (e.g. making it “responsive” or making a PWA out of it).

This way you can serve your project as a desktop website or a semi-mobile app with a single codebase, while having the authority on the backend side.

There’s no real single answer to this. Like most dev matters, it depends on several things, including:

• What kind of app are you building?
  • What are your larger goals?
  • What is your budget?

What kind of app are you building?

The needs of a cross-platform “web-like” experience are far different (simpler?) than something that breaks away from typical web design.

For example, are you building a typical website experience or are you designing a graphically heavy game with 3d visuals that also uses mobile device features like the gyroscope? Something in between? Something else?

The answer to that question will influence some of your decisions.

What are your larger goals?

There are all kinds of frameworks out there, but not all of them are based on the same technologies. A hot new tool might sound great but it may also require you to learn something that you don’t already know.

That’s absolutely not a bad thing, but different people have different goals.